Animal Shelter Volunteer Program

We have an active volunteer program and are always seeking more people who would like to give of their time to the animals. Volunteers are a great asset to the shelter as they give that extra attention and do activities that are needed while a shelter animal awaits its new home. Such activities include dog walking, socializing cats, fostering, general socializing with the shelter animals, clerical assistance, emergency preparedness SCART and help with events.

Requirements

 
In order to become any type of volunteer you need to:
  • Be at least 14 years old
  • If you are younger, a parent or guardian must accompany you for training and volunteering 
  • Complete a Volunteer Application (pdf). If under 14 the parent fills out the application noting the child's name in the appropriate section.
  • Attend a 30 minute orientation 
  • Attend a 25 minute cat class to volunteer with cats
  • Attend a 1 1/2 class to volunteer with dogs
Boy with Ferret.png

 
The following are the dates for the upcoming Volunteer Orientation Classes: 

Wednesday April 18, 2018
Saturday April 28, 201822
Saturday May 12, 2018
Wednesday May 23, 2018
Saturday June 9, 2018
Wednesday June 20, 2018
Wednesday July 11, 2018
Saturday July 28, 2018
Saturday August 11, 2018
Wednesday August 22, 2018
Wednesday September 12, 2018
Saturday September 22, 2018

    
Class times are as follows:

General Orientation:  10-10:30 AM (all volunteers)

Dog Class:  10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Cat Class:  12:00 PM - 12:30 PM 
  
   Please bring a photo ID if you are 18 or older. 

*Bring a snack, lunch and something to drink if attending all three classes.
*Please sign up at the front desk if you plan to attend.
*If you have signed up and are unable to attend, please call to notify the volunteer coordinator (970-668-4197) or the shelter (970-668-3230).
*Please wear appropriate clothing for the Dog Class as we will be walking dogs outside.

THANKS FOR YOUR INTEREST IN HELPING OUR ANIMALS!
   














Kaitlyn Wertz and Otis jumping